Before HOD, Weekly Lesson Plans, but now what?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
flydena

Before HOD, Weekly Lesson Plans, but now what?

Post by flydena » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:45 pm

Before I found HOD, I wrote up weekly lesson plans for each of my children, kept one copy for myself and gave another copy to them, so that they would know what to do even when I'm not at home (I work part-time as a school bus driver). This kept us all accountable to making sure we were getting everything done and it also served as my "record" for what we did each day/week/year. I have to keep some kind of records...just in case, you know? :)

But, now I have these fabulous open and go guides, and honestly, I think I'm making things too hard on myself because I'm trying to still type up a weekly lesson plan for the kids. :? But, I've done this for pretty much the entire time I've homeschooled (this will be our 8th year), so I don't know how else to do this! Is there an easier way? :roll:

I've heard that some people just leave their teacher's manual open on a counter or table for the kids to go and see what they are to do next. I don't think I can do that....I'm very particular about MY books, and don't want the kids to mess them up...they just aren't as careful as me. :oops: I also like to keep the TM with me or near me during our schooling so I can make sure they are doing what they need to be doing.

I've also always taught my kids together for everything except Math and LA, and this coming year, they are all 3 doing separate guides. :shock: I do plan to use the workbox system, but still am at a loss on how to "tell" them what to do with out their weekly lesson plans.