experienced hs'er wanting your input

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
jewell

experienced hs'er wanting your input

Post by jewell » Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:10 pm

I have been hsing for 15 years, since my oldest dd was 3. At the beginning I used a curriculum for pre-school, then drifted off and did my own thing.
But with our large family and our little guy having some medical challenges, I'm looking for an easier way. When I saw this curriculum at a conference a few years ago, I was impressed...this is what I like to do, only planned for me.
The challenge is that I have two interesting preschoolers. My little guy that will be 5 in April, knows all his letters, their sounds and is beginning to read. He can order numbers from 1-10. His hand strength and upper body strength is poor, so that, while he likes to write, he doesn't have great endurance.
The other is even more interesting. This little guy just turned 3 on christmas and knows all his letters and their sounds, whether he sees them or hears them. He is beginning to read 3-letter words. he likes to scribble, but I think he is barely ready for pre-writing.
Of course, it would be easier to have them both in the same program. But is that appropriate? And which one would you recommend. Or is this program the best fit for them?
thanks for your input.
jewell
jewell
mommy, educator of 10

kayrenee

Post by kayrenee » Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:12 am