Phonics recommendation?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
jackor

Phonics recommendation?

Post by jackor » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:00 pm

I am new to HOD and am so excited to be getting started! I feel quite confident this curriculum will be a good match for my son. But I'm unsure what I should do with him as far as language arts/grammar/spelling. He is 6 and a very avid reader. I would say he is a speed-reader with excellent comprehension and vocabulary (ie: enjoys reading Little House books and high school level historical biographies). I've started him in grade 2 spelling and he's comfortable with it, though he hates writing. I would like to find a grammar and LA program that teaches the basics without being too simplistic, and yet won't require a lot of writing. He found the phonics I've tried with him (K and 1st grade levels) to be boring and he became restless and rather uncooperative every time we pulled it out (not sure if that was because it was too easy or because he had to do some writing). I'm wondering if you have a recommendation for me.

Thank you and I'm so happy to be starting HOD!!

Becca

StephanieU

Re: Phonics recommendation?

Post by StephanieU » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:07 pm

What guide do you plan on using?
Mom to
DD15 US1 (completed LHFHG-WH)
DS13 MtMM (completed LHFHG-Rev2Rev plus some of LHTH)
DD12 Rev2Rev (completed LHTH-RtR)
DS7 Beyond (completed LHTH-LHFHG)

jackor

Post by jackor » Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:16 am