Question for emerging reader list for beyond little hearts

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
Bharper

Question for emerging reader list for beyond little hearts

Post by Bharper » Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi I am new to HOD and to the board. I'm hoping this is where I can post this question :shock: , Thanks.

We will be starting BLHFHG with 1st and 2nd grade in two weeks. I was wondering how to schedule the emerging reader list. Would it be okay if one child started with week 1 reading (which is the Bible reading) and the other start with the reading for week 2? Or should they take turns reading the same thing for that unit?

Thanks,
Brandee :D

dianemahon

Re: Question for emerging reader list for beyond little hear

Post by dianemahon » Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:45 pm

Are they both reading at the same level? You can follow the list however you want. It took us a couple weeks to get acclimated with the program so skipped the first weeks. i've also had to switch books around because i couldnt get them at the right time, etc. You also have the option of the supplemental titles. Since this is independent reading for them they can both read the same book, just at different times. Your idea of having them on different weeks could work too. I think just as long as they are reading, what they are reading when can be tweaked for whatever works for you. Hope that helps!

twoxcell

Post by twoxcell » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:02 pm

I think I'm confused about the question. You can read the ER's at any pace you want they do not need to co-ordinate with the guides units at all. Each student can just read at whatever pace they need to.
ds 12 RevtoRev
dd 9 Preparing
dd 7 Beyond
ds 5 Little Hearts
dd due September 20th

my3sons