Scheduling the School Year

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
happy@home

Scheduling the School Year

Post by happy@home » Sat May 17, 2008 8:46 am

I am new at this and just curious as to how you ladies schedule your school year. My oldest daughter is in public school and they run from the first week in August until the middle of May. But I just realized :oops: that I don't have to go by their schedule!! :D :D :D

Do you go from August or September to May?

Do you have a Fall break and a Spring break?

Do you take off a week or two at Christmas?

Thanks for sharing all your wisdom and ideas!!

SoaringEagle

Post by SoaringEagle » Sat May 17, 2008 8:53 am

I'm just starting. I did Pre-K last year and this year we'll be starting K. I decided to start school the day after my daughter's birthday which is in very early September. I take breaks whenever I see the need to. Usually a week off every 6 weeks or so. We also school 4 days/week since 1 day is co-op day and we are just too tired afterwards to do any formal schooling. We end whenever our curriculum is finished.

annaz

Post by annaz » Sat May 17, 2008 10:41 am

We go year round. I take off around the holidays in December, family vacations and Vacation Bible School. The rest of the time we wing it :roll: between how busy we are, but that's why we go year round. My dd would be bored stiff if we took off for the summer.

beandip71

Post by beandip71 » Sat May 17, 2008 10:44 am