Help! How do you organize your books?

This is where new posts begin. All questions or discussions about any of Heart of Dakota's curriculums start here. If you wish to share a one-time post about your family's experience with our curriculum, you may post under the specific curriculum title (found beneath this "Main Board" heading).
my3sons

Help! How do you organize your books?

Post by my3sons » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:48 am

I have been building my own personal library of books for about 14 years, and I have a LOT of them. :) I have my HOD guides and their accompanying books in separate tubs (so the dc don't sneak reading them ahead of time :lol: ). But, how can I organize the rest of them? :shock: I almost took pictures to show you how dire the problem is - but I only have 2 weeks to get them all in some semblance of order - no time for pics 8) . I have big bookshelves in the basement to put them on, but how is it best to organize them? Genre? Age? Alphabetically - by title, by author? Dewey decimal system? :shock: And then once you've organized them, how do you find things easily? And what do you do when you take a book out? Do you have a list of them you always have to keep adding to? That seems tedious, but maybe it's not. All 3 of my dc have big bookshelves in their rooms too, and so do I. We rotate these books in and out from the shelves in the basement. I also have audio books, etc. So these books need to be able to come and go from the basement system too. What do all of you book lovers do to organize your books, and can it be done in 2 weeks?!? :D

In Christ,
Julie
Enjoyed LHTH to USII
Currently using USI
Wife to Rich for 28 years
Mother to 3 sons, ages 23, 20, and 16
Sister to Carrie

zookeeperof3monkeys

Re: Help! How do you organize your books?

Post by zookeeperof3monkeys » Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:02 am